The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Behringer Deepmind 12D

Behringer Deepmind 12D

4.5 4.5 out of 5, based on 2 Reviews

is this a shock classic from behringer?

12th August 2018

Behringer Deepmind 12D by andrew caramia

• Sound Quality 4 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.75
Behringer Deepmind 12D

the behringer deepmind 12D has been in my studio for a couple of weeks now. while I usually keep my area a behringer free zone, I thought id give the deepmind a chance.
I have quite a few modern and vintage analog synths to compare it to. im not a great programmer, nor can I say im an amazing player. but, ive been fiddling around with synths for 30 years now, and I have a good ear.

first ill start with what I don't like...
1- the internal fan. very surprising for a modern synth, even if its analog. from what ive heard, its fine to turn it off in the menu. according to midas its there if you plan to use it in a live situation where theres a lot of heat present. I prefer to keep it on its lowest setting just in case. its audible, but not too annoying.
2- even after the latest firmware update and a couple of calibrations, many presets (about 80%) have an annoying 'crackle'... this isn't an isolated problem, many users have reported the same. HOWEVER lowering the VCA level fixes this. I find it very surprising behringer released the unit so quickly without thoroughly checking the many programmers presets to make sure this wasnt present in its release. behringer have stated a new firmware update should fix this and I hope it happens soon. its easy just to lower the VCA and press 'save', but c'mon man!