The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
FOSTEX T40RP-MK3

FOSTEX T40RP-MK3

4.25 4.25 out of 5, based on 1 Review

Excellent value, no apparent hyping mostly flat

14th October 2017

FOSTEX T40RP-MK3 by PB+J

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 4 out of 5
  • Features 3 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.25
FOSTEX T40RP-MK3

So backstory, I do home production semi-professionally. I'm not a professional audio engineer but I['m not completely clueless

I had ben using a set of Shure srh940s which I thought sounded good but which I had a hard time mixing on. They tended to accentuate reverb and I ended up with bass heavy mixes when I tested in the car. Also they were really crap, construction wise, despite costing 300 bucks. The swivels the earcups are mounted on broke within a year. I managed to patch them together, twice, but they are beyond repair now.

So I wanted a replacement that was

A durable!!
B not hyped in anyway

I saw these on sale at Guitar Center for 70 bucks and said why not.

These are "planar magnetic" headphones, which means the "speaker" is a square membrane rather than a cone. Sort of like a ribbon mic.

The downside is that you get less volume--my primary interface is an Apogee duet, and it takes a good bit more gain to get to the same listening level. The upside is a flatter eq profile

Ok the good. They have what seems to be a very very "flat" sound. I can detect no obvious hype. There's no high end sparkle, no whomping bass. If anything they are a bit bass shy. They have a less "open" sound and maybe a bit less mid detail than the Shures. They have an odd kind of "black background" thing going on, like everything is on a background of black velvet. Smooth, but not dull. The Shure's have a more in your face quality. It's hard to describe.

The upside is the mixes I've tested with the car test are translating much more readily. So happy!