The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Metric Halo ULN-2 2d Expanded +DSP

4.25 4.25 out of 5, based on 1 Review

The Metric Halo ULN-2 is a wolf in sheep's clothing. Its modest appearance, age and price can make it seem like perhaps not the best deal around, but dig in and you will realise that this box not only will make your life easier but that it is a DEEP piece of gear.

4th October 2016

Metric Halo ULN-2 2d Expanded +DSP by thermal

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 3 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 4 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.25

First I would like to emphasise that I do not have much experience with high end audio interfaces - I am a hobbyist producer/mixer (although I do spend a lot of time on this hobby) and have been for 20 years. I upgraded from a modest Presonus Firebox which had been my companion for about 10 years. Did a huge amount of research before I ended up buying the ULN-2 - was planning on getting an Audient iD22 before a second hand ULN-2 showed up on my local "craigslist" for $800 or so. I jumped on it and am glad I did.

Now for some tech specs:

HARDWARE

*2x analogue ins on separate XLR and TRS inputs (XLRs go to the mic pres and TRSes go to the DIs) - both types of inputs can accept line signals as well. Good dented gain knobs on the front in 6 dB steps up to 72 dB of gain, with additional trim knob for fine tuning. Separate +48V phantom power switch on both channels

*4x analogue outs, perfect for driving two sets of monitors. The "monitor" outputs have a dedicated volume control on the front of the hardware unit.

*Headphone output (duplicates the "monitor" outs but thankfully has its own volume control on the front of the hardware)

*2x Analogue sends and returns, enabling e.g. patching a stereo compressor into the signal path

*S/PDIF stereo I/O, optical or coaxial