The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Aston Microphones Spirit

Aston Microphones Spirit

5 5 out of 5, based on 2 Reviews

I’m kind of new to the whole review thing but I wanted to put together a bit of a test on these new Aston microphones that have been gathering momentum over the last few months. Lets try this in untested waters!

3 weeks ago

Featured Aston Microphones Spirit by Arthur Stone

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 5
Aston Microphones Spirit

That's the Spirit: The Spirit is an award-winning large-diaphragm condenser (LDC) microphone from Aston Microphones Ltd. It features a high-pass filter, pads and 3 polar-patterns. Priced for low mid-market it's a few steps up from budget-mics and possesses some of the capabilities of high-end mics.

The specs suggest the Spirit is a flexible and sensitive mic – not the quietest in terms of self-noise but certainly respectable (U87 ballpark) and acceptable for normal studio sound pressure levels. The hardware itself is first-class, well-engineered and innovative. Built to last a lifetime.

The Spirit is designed and manufactured in the UK and it does embody local engineering tradition whilst pushing things forward and not relying on design cliches. Whilst Aston is itself a newish company, it's team has extensive experience in the pro audio field, and it's stated ethos is to bring new and unique products to a crowded generic market.

The Spirit LDC is the second mic in Aston's catalogue: following the fixed-cardioid Origin (reviewed by Dowsed here on Gearslutz). The Starlight advanced pencil mic is Aston's third mic and Gearslutz looks forward to reviewing it in the coming weeks. Aston also manufacture the Halo reflection filter and that review will be published next month.

Specifications:
Quote: