The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Concert Hall & Long Distance Digital?
Old 26th November 2009
Here for the gear

Question Concert Hall & Long Distance Digital?

hi everyone,

i've been mulling over this problem for a few months since i started at CSU... here's the deal:

my recording engineers tape EVERYTHING that goes on in our concert hall -- mostly classical concerts. Whoever built the performing arts center here spec'd things out right, there are tons of mic lines and tie lines that run back to our central recording room from the three halls. however, the length of the lines is huge... the closest venue is probably 100 feet, which means the mic lines are probably longer with all the twists and turns in the conduits.

so, we have a relatively decent infrastructure, but the amount of noise we accumulate over the mic run is unacceptable to me.

we've been using preamps racked in a case on stage for serious recordings so we can pass the signals to the studio balanced, at line level. however, i want to install a new isolated system in the main concert hall, and potentially do the digital conversion in the hall.

does anyone have recommendations for a multichannel (at least 4) long distance digital solution? i don't mind pulling new wire or fiber from the hall to the studio, but i want to reduce the number of interconnects.

ideally: Decca Tree in the concert hall -> Canare StarQuad -> Mic Pres -> Digital Conversion -> Long cable run -> ProTools.

any thoughts ?

-m
Old 26th November 2009
Lives for gear

I just finished the sceletal requirements for a new concerthall with a separate scoring stage.
We will go with either
Millennia, Crookwood or Grace remote controlled preamps controlled by a separate harware remote or computer as well as the PTHD

Onstage and catwalk-mounted madi system such as euphonix or the like