The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Radar and such.
Old 22nd December 2002
Here for the gear

Radar and such.

I have been using the Radar for the last 2 months and have been basically been happy with it. We did have a problem with it last week with Whitney Houston. We had to do an overdub and it would not lock to picture.l (Whitney had to lipsync to pict to fix a verse.) had to bring in a PT Rig. To say I was not too happy would be an understatement. I was actually on vacation and was not on the gig. My crew are all very competent and know hard disk recording inside and out. I called IZ and they are going to send someone out to look at the situation.
tut Again I can not stress the importance or recording to a tape sorce backup while recording to any hard disk system.
If you are in a position where your client would be ok if the system carshed then go for it. If not, you have been warned. A hard disk recording system is basically a computer. All computers crash at sometime or another. The ones who back up their hard drives survive without much grief those who don't wish they had.

Kooster
Old 22nd December 2002
Super Moderator

Amen to that my friend.

You are preaching to the choir! HD recording without a safety net is a big no no in our world!!

All our past HD projects worked without a hitch. I guess it's because we had tape backing up the HD. I don't think the HD system had the balls to fail while "tape backup" was hanging around. heh

IMHO, having two HD systems running is still not a true backup record situation. When you're on location, you got to have a reliable recording medium. No if's, and's or but's!!! tut

Remember, you're as good as your last gig when you're recording a one time event. I'm not gonna let no stinkin' HD take the project down. grggt
Old 22nd December 2002
Jeeze...

I would have been sweating blood!

Old 23rd December 2002
Gear Head

Re: Radar and such.

Quote:
Originally posted by Kooster