The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mic'ing advice for grand piano modern jazz sound
Old 9th September 2020
Here for the gear

Mic'ing advice for grand piano modern jazz sound

Hey all,

I'm a pianist looking for some advice from any of you who are well versed in grand piano recording - specifically for modern jazz trio work. The kind of sound I'm after is a pretty intimate, produced sound - think Esbjörn Svensson Trio etc. Full bodied, but not particularly roomy.

I'm working with a gorgeous Steinway Model O, albeit in a living room with wood floors. I've built 3 broadband absorbers (7ft tall X 4ft wide), to tame reflections and I'm currently tracking with some carpet underneath the piano too. I've found taking the lid off helpful in trying different mic positions, and generally I like the openness that lends to the sound - although I do wonder if the 8ft high untreated ceiling could be an issue. I can't attach any treatment to the ceiling in this room - though I'm open to creative solutions of suspending some treatment above the instrument if it would be worthwhile.

Mic setup as follows:

AEA R88 --> Phoenix DRSQ4-Mk II
Matched Pair DPA 2011c (Cardioids) -- > UA Apollo Unison Pres

I've done some experimenting, and so far I love the full body/warmth of the R88 close up - also gives a great stereo image, and to add some depth/space, I'm using the DPAs in ORTF and blending that in. Pictures below.

Here are my questions:

- Regardless of where I position the R88, so long as it's close up there's always a couple of notes that stick out as massively resonant. Is this always going to be an unavoidable issue using a ribbon so close to the strings? Or is there a workaround? If I pull back the mic I lose the intimacy/closeness that I like.