The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Sub / low end / On the go Headphones mixing
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Sub / low end / On the go Headphones mixing

Dear all,

New here, hope this goes in the right place.

After reading extensive threads, and online videos I came to the conclusion it is quite hard to find something specific.

I am a producer, sound artist, and field recordist with a decade of Professional experience. I always used Studio monitors and controlled acoustic room for my decisions on mixing and mastering, I only trust that for Low-end decisions.

My work is not focused on Popular music consumption but mostly shown in the context of museums, performance rooms, film theatres, and Galleries, that is with totally different acoustic characteristics and P.A.

As I often work with subtle differences in Sub Frequencies, it is really important to make them present, yet controlled enough for translating under very different sound systems.

During the next two years, I will be forced to be constantly traveling on the go for a longer project of field recordings and Several Installations/Presentations.

I am looking for a set of Headphones or General Tips on mixing low End on the go with the accuracy, taking into consideration it won't be possible to have access to Studio before submitting work. I'm aware of the difficulties of making decisions about low end with Headphones, yet under exceptional circumstances, are there any models that can give some realistic representation? I have been an initial user of Sennheiser Hd600, but they lack much response to Sub Frequency.

Please make the response specific to low-end representation, and on the go situations. This means I will have to edit content while being in remote wild places.

Has anyone been in similar situations?

By realistic I don´t mean a boosting low end, but it needs to be clear, present, and as flat as possible even without any Software calibration.