The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
U47 FET or Similar for Main Orchestral Pair
Old 4 weeks ago
U47 FET or Similar for Main Orchestral Pair

I feel like I’m going crazy overthinking this. I’ve spent quite a bit of time comparing microphones in small environments where I record mostly (though occasionally in a hall) and I’ve found I prefer the U47 FET over the others I’ve tried. Now, I’m no expert and my experience is limited. I’ve tried and currently own Schoeps CMC6 with various capsules, Royer R-122, AKG 414 XLS, and Neumann KM 184 with a U47 FET I rented. The U47 crushed them. It’s got a realism in the mids and a sweetness in the highs that exists in real life where the Schoeps, for instance, is quite harsh in the highs and lacks the weight in the mids that I hear with my ear in the same space. Of course I could probably EQ that, but there is just something about that U47 sound that strikes me as being the most realistic right out of the mic.

I don’t have much experience in this space but I did do a lot of comparing at home and just couldn’t get the Schoeps to sound as amazing as the (vintage) U47 FET. Should I consider other Neumanns? I will be mostly using them as a spaced pair for ORTF or AB, or 4 mic array. How about the U87ai or a vintage U87? The TLM 170r, M147 or M149? Vintage U47s would be too much for me to spent on a pair.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

I think that you will find after more experimentation that the U47 FET is made to be used rather close up to the source. It is not a main pair use microphone.

Also as a correction to what you wrote, the Schoeps is never harsh in the treble and never lacks weight in the mid range. The Schoeps mics reflect the source exactly.

Put another way, the microphone is not making the sound. The source / instrument is making the sound.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear