The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
AB spaced pair - loss of high frequency?
Old 25th April 2020
Gear Nut

AB spaced pair - loss of high frequency?

Hello all,

I'm really new in recording and do it mostly for me to listen to later to analyse and fix errors in my organ performance etc.

Anyway, I bought Neumann KM-183 and have been trying to record me playing on the pipe organ in my church. I connect those microphones to Zoom H6 but always use X/Y module also to record.
I'm getting audio and the bass is much improved with the KM-183 (AB) but I think I'm doing something wrong probably in placement because when I solo what I get with the X/Y seems to be more open and high frequency seems to be more normal than with the KM-183.

Today the H6 was closer to the organ but this happened also the other day when it was almost on the same place as the Neumanns.

What is likely error on my part?
Old 25th April 2020
Lives for gear
Cardioid mics (like what is built in the Zoom) almost always have a rise in the top end, and omnis tend to be more flat (more natural and accurate). I'd wager you're hearing that treble boost. If it sounds better than the Neumanns, then my next wager is your placement of the Neumanns is not as good as it could be as you pointed out. Placing spaced omnis is trickier, but for your application (organ) I'd be surprosed if you couldn't produce a MUCH better result with the KM183s. Perhaps you're getting a little too much bass in the Neumanns where they are placed, making them sound too dark and less open.
Old 25th April 2020
Lives for gear
I reckon leddy's analysis is pretty much on the money...and would just add that the KM183, while it doesn't have the 'presence rise of a typical budget cardioid, certainly has the distant-field HF lift you see in the response plot here:

http://recordinghacks.com/microphones/Neumann/KM-183