The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Wide open field on a calm day. Perfect?
Old 2 weeks ago
Wide open field on a calm day. Perfect?

I'm fairly new to acoustics....

but theoretically speaking, wouldn't a wide open, flat field (nothing but grass for miles) on a day with no wind be the perfect recording environment?

I know that at well designed room will enhance sound, but if we're talking a perfect reference recording...

I can't seem to find any documentation of this being done, but I'm sure has been done many times.

I don't know, I'm bored, thought this might be a good topic. cheers.
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

By "Perfect" do you mean perfectly dry?

Like would it be completely reflectionless? Like an anechoic chamber?

So, yeah, it might be almost perfectly dry. But there is one reflective surface so the ground will offer a little something, though it won't be like standing waves or anything so it will be pretty good. But less than the platonic ideal of the perfect space.

Well, I guess also except for the fact that you always have noise in nature. Birds chirping. Bees buzzing. Lions, tigers, and bears-oh-my roaring, or whatever, so there will be more background noise. There's nothing to stop all those sounds getting to you. In those cases, an anechoic chamber would likely be better for a perfectly dry recording as it can isolate sound from the outside and have a lower noise floor.

But, then, an anechoic chamber might be theoretically close to ideal from one standpoint, and that's why they're great for getting real testing data for mics, for instance. But they're impossible to work in. Stay in a truly anechoic room for long and you go sort of crazy. It's freakish, in fact. There's a place in Minnesota that's so quiet nobody has ever been able to stay in the room for more than 45 minutes. You could never expect to do work in there beyond testing.