The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Learning a new skill while the virus blows over, perhaps...
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

Learning a new skill while the virus blows over, perhaps...

Hi all,

So, with many recordings already being cancelled due to this virus, I'm thinking about nerding up on the technical aspects of recording video.

I've got lots of self-taught 'knowledge', anecdotal expertise and YouTube education but I want to solidify all that with some reference/technical published books that one might consider industry standard. I'm thinking along the lines of say, Bob Katz book on Mastering audio.

Specifically I'm interested in learning about frame rates and that sort of tech specs. The difference between 4K, HD, the difference between 'i' and 'p' and why it matters. The use of codecs, what does H.264 mean and other output formats...

I hope that all makes sense and yes I suppose this could, in the future, be used in conjunction with my audio work.

Thanks for the suggestions all, Dave
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Most of that kind of info is readily available in online articles. Frame rate is the number of still images the camera takes every second, like 30fps, etc. it also reflects the playback rate. 30fps is perhaps the most common. 60fps is used to capture motion more accurately and is not really needed for music performances or for most normal video work. 24fps is the most common for cinema because it tends to slightly blur motion in a pleasing manner, and because it has long been a standard in that industry.

4k is UHD and reflects the image size of each still frame - 3840x2160 is the normal resolution for 4k, which is about 8 mb per image.
HD means a resolution of either 1280x720 (the original HD), or 1920x1080 (full HD). 1920x1080 gives you about 2 mb per still frame/image, so it is about 1/4th the resolution of UHD. However, even a well processed 720p video can be quite good, though 1080p is the primary broadcast standard these days.