The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Weighing Merging & Dante options on location
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Weighing Merging & Dante options on location

Hi all,

I am hoping to get some input from various users here to inform my decision-making process. For the past couple of years, I have been using a Dante-centric location recording rig built around a Grace m108, but I have been wanting to expand my channel count in a streamlined way. To this end, I have been considering both expanding my current system, or selling some equipment and transitioning to a Merging Hapi. I'm using Pyramix for recording.

It seems to me that there are a variety of fairly recent developments in the AoIP world (Merging Anubis, AES67, etc.) which have implications worth considering here. However, I have no experience with Ravenna or any of the Merging hardware.

Some main points of the two scenarios, as I currently see them are:

Keep system Dante-based
- Buy a second m108
- System remains very flexible and scalable
- Other equipment I have (e.g. Focusrite AM2) remains useful
- Easy to integrate additional equipment, mix manufacturers
- Once properly configured, Dante has been extremely reliable
- Two m108's will require an additional switch at the rack case
- Another switch already needed to break out to two laptops and monitoring at control position (I'd like to keep points of failure as low as possible)
- No option to explore DSD or DXD in the future
- Cheaper

Transition to Merging Hapi
- Sell m108 towards this
- System becomes more streamlined with 16 inputs in one device
- Less equipment needed, fewer points of failure
- Possibility to provide DSD/DXD recordings
- Other equipment I have (e.g. Focusrite AM2) becomes obsolete
- Additional equipment needed for monitoring (buy Anubis?)
- Fewer options in terms of interoperability (e.g. AES67 not universally supported)