The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Beethoven Sonata for Violin and Piano in a small church
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Beethoven Sonata for Violin and Piano in a small church

Hi, everyone.

I have been reading Gearslutz assiduously for a long time, but this is my first post. I am a self-taught amateur recordist and I do not play an instrument.

Two friends, who prefer to remain anonymous, allowed me to record them in a small church. This was the first few minutes of an hour-long program. I was able to spend a few minutes trying different microphone placements while they played. This is my first attempt at recording piano and violin.

The piano keyboard was perpendicular to the audience. The violinist stood to pianist’s right, facing about 30 degrees towards the audience, even with and about two feet from the end of the piano stool. The piano lid was open about three inches. A Schoeps CMC6 MK4 pair in ORTF, on a floor stand, was positioned at the depth of the bentside curve with the grills inside the lid opening with the left microphone pointing at the middle of the treble half of the hammers. Another Schoeps CMC6 MK4, on a stand two inches from the piano lid, was aimed directly at the violin at shoulder height at a distance of about 4 feet. I used a Sound Devices Mix-Pre II in 32 bit 96 kHz mode.

I would be grateful for any criticism.

Thank you for your time,

Bill Strong
Attached Files

Beethoven_Example_trimmed.mp3 (15.64 MB, 669 views)

Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Pianos a bit too prominent
Why not not cover both instruments on the one pair and get a natural balance ?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

not sure whether it was tactically clever to reveal mic technique and positions right from the start in this forum...

anyway: does in your opinion the recording picture well what happened? or was the goal to get a sound bigger-than-life? how well does it compare to mixes you like or even admire?