The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Which mics to add to my collection?
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Which mics to add to my collection?

Hey,

I'm a drummer with too much gear who's slowly turning into a live and remote engineer...
I've done quite a number of live jobs over the last three years (mainly Jazz, both club and open air), but would like to do more remote recording jobs as well. Just expanding my mic collection for that purpose.

I'm using a RME UFX+ with Octamic XTC on madi, expanded with Audient ASP880 and/or Octamic D / Quadmic as needed.

You can see my collection and main uses below, but I'll start with what I'm mainly in the market for:

(at least) one more M160 - there is no alternative to this mic, is there? Maybe Xaudia modded Oktava ML19??

Pair of "quality" SDC: Should I just get KM184 because that's an "industry standard" recognized by clients? Can I cut corners and get a pair of SE8 or WA84? Should I step up? If so what to - MKH 8040, Schoeps MK6, DPA?

(Pair of) 414ish workhorse LDC: stick to the classic (vintage?), get a cheaper pair to get started (Lewit LC441T, SE T2, WA-14?), or go OC818? (I like the small form factor, so AA CM414 is not my favorite).

MD441?? I know it's a great mic, but I haven't worked with one yet so I wonder if I really need those or if I should just stick with the M201s I know and like...

There is no actual budget, if I'm really convinced I can spend some serious money, if I look on the returns I got so far, maybe I shouldn't...

Thanks for your feedback, Peer

Mics I usually bring to shows:

2*M88
3*M201
1*M69
2*Revox M 3500
2*Beyer MC930
1*D6
2*Beyer Opus 87
1*Sennheiser 845
1*Beyer TG-X 58
1*SM58

Mics I usually don't bring to live shows:

3*Kel 7U
2*Kel 3C
2*Fathead II (stock transformer, might upgrade)
2*AKG C4000B -> might sell
1*SM98

Mics I just purchased:

1*M160 (vintage)
2*M130 (not arrived yet)
1*EV ND686 (not arrived yet)
1*RE20