The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Radiohead live recording outside
Old 28th September 2019
Here for the gear

Radiohead live recording outside

Hi,

I just saw a music video of radiohead on YouTube (https://youtu.be/Ti6qhk3tX2s?list=RDTi6qhk3tX2s). It seems they play it live, but I can't believe it when I see the wind in the trees behind. I'm a professional sound recordist for film, so I know what it sounds like if wind gets on the capsule and that you have to do a lot (basket, jammer) to avoid that properly. There is also a big audio discussion in the comments on YouTube, but as you read it you'll thin it should be better discussed here. There is one comment that makes totally sense to me, the author recognized the mic as a ribbon mic, where both sides have a different polarity, which should at least eliminate the noise floor from the trees, but I think it doesn't help against wind hitting the capsule directly. As I'm writing this text it comes to my mind that they have placed massive windbreakers outside the frame? But that's just my idea and I'm just recording my little films and not a radiohead song
Old 28th September 2019
Lives for gear

As you probably know, most music videos are shot to playback, so if they did that and there are not any questions about lip sync, they did a good job.

I'll take a look in a bit.

D.
Old 28th September 2019
Gear Guru

Unless there were three or four camera operators managing to not fall all over each other, it was shot to playback. Good though.
Old 28th September 2019
Gear Head
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudiBrueller View Post
Hi,
It seems they play it live
Where are the drums in the frame?
Old 28th September 2019
Lives for gear
I think its live, he is very close to his mic, there is a lot of proximity
He says' probably ' at the end and also cues the drum machine
Thats not on a final track normally
Excellent performance and film /recording by Paul Thomas Anderson and Nigel Goodrich.
Old 28th September 2019
Gear Maniac