The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Merging Hapi mic pre's vs. Audient ASP 880 Digital Converters
Old 7th August 2014
Merging Hapi mic pre's vs. Audient ASP 880

Dear Colleagues,
I'm starting to research an increase in channel count into my remote kit. I currently use 8 channels of Grace Design into Lynx Aurora + an Audient ASP880 into an RME ADAT interface (I get a maximum of 12 channels at 96kHz).

I'd like to increase both the channel count and the sampling frequency. Merging's Hapi seems like an excellent choice.

The question is, keep the Audient? I've no direct experience with the sound quality of the Horus/Hapi mic pre's and A/D, but consensus seems to be that it's state of the art. I could help offset the cost of a Hapi (with two AD8D 8 channel mic-pre cards) by selling the Audient. I'd then have 24 channels of 192kHz (with the Grace feeding the Aurora feeding the AES/EBU in the Hapi).
Old 9th August 2014
Lives for gear

I can only imagine that the pres are very close, meaning transparent and designed to be used for classical/acoustic work. If you compare it to Pueblo or an EAR, they may not hold up as the cost implies (about a grand for 8 channels of pre and AtoD).
Old 9th August 2014
Lives for gear

I have not heard the Audient pres, although they are said to be excellent. I have heard the Merging preamp/converter, and it is outstanding. It would certainly not be a downgrade, and would probably be an upgrade.

However, here's where I think the real advantage of going Hapi would be: with the Merging solution, you can get 16 channels in one rack space. Simplifying one's setup, reducing complexity, and decreasing the size and weight of one's rig is always worthwhile.
Old 10th August 2014
The audient is nice. It's no Grace, but it's very good.
Any Horus owners want to chime in on the quality of the merging A/Ds?
Old 10th August 2014