The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Can we discuss rates?
Old 15th October 2013
Can we discuss rates?

Hey guys, I've been doing remote recording for about 2 years now, about 2 shows a month. I'm mostly doing midsize clubs and the occasional large outdoor show, mostly for a corporate sponsor who posts the recordings online. I am very curious to ask you all what your rigs are and what your pricing is. If this has been asked, I couldn't find it-- but please point me there if it has.

OK, I'll start with my admittedly modest rig: 16 channels of line/preamp (ART Tubefire x2), older macbook running logic, 70's Sony pencil condensers used in X/Y or ORTF. Sometimes I rent a split, most times I take direct outs and group outs. I know, this rig is modest, but I get good results. I charge $300 for this, including mixing (quick and dirty, maybe 3hrs mixing/mastering per show).

I'm just curious what people are charging in the remote world, as I've started to feel like I'm under charging for the product I'm delivering....thanks!
Old 15th October 2013
I eventually settled on a system where I charge a day rate - either half or full - and then came up with common package rates to add on top of that, which can be customized depending on the situation.

For instance, my half-day rate (up to 5 hours incl. set and strike) is $350; my full day rate (up to 10 hours incl. set and strike) is $500. Additional hours would be billed at $75/hr. Any multi-track recording will be billed at a full day rate.

Then we get to the gear. For a simple 2-mic recording, I probably would not charge anything additional over my day rate, but as more gear is required, the cost goes up, anywhere from $250 to $1000 (or more). I can do line-item rentals of my gear if the client so wishes, or I can charge them a simple package rate for a "standard xx-track package", which is almost always cheaper.