The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Tags: , , , ,

Reccording a Jazz quartet - your advice please ? (especialy BD mics)
Old 13th October 2003
Gear Maniac

Question Reccording a Jazz quartet - your advice please ? (especialy BD mics)

Hello,

I have to reccord a Jazz band, live in the studio.
It's my first time with jazz and I'm extited like a child heh

There is Electric GTR, Sax, Contrebasse (double bass in english ?) and Drums. The BD is a 20", but don't know the brand for now.

I've heard good thing on the Audix D6 with BD.
Does that would be well suited for jazz ? I'm thinking of spending around 300 Euros, so a AKG D112 can be in the contest too.

What do you think ? Will not be able to have both to compare.
Any other contender for that (cheap) price ?

I already have an M88TG, an M149, 2x 414 ULS, a U87, a Rhodes NTV, 2x vintage Beyer M160, a BPM CR 73 and SM57's.
Preamp are a 9098 EQ, a Avalon 737, 2 ch of 1272, 2 ch of Fidelta PAM-1 (it's audiofile, kind of Millenia SM2B) and ...... my tascam board

Anyone with experience/tips, suggestions with that kind of setup ? Musicians are great.

Thanks in advance,

Salvator

PS : I plan to put the pres in the tracking room, next to mics...
Old 13th October 2003
Lives for gear

I like a nice old fasioned AKG D12 out front on jazz kik, Boof
Old 13th October 2003
Gear Maniac

Hello adamcal,

Thanks for your response.

Seems that the D12 ain't still in production... what is a good price in the used field for those ? Do you have one to sell ?

Salvator
Old 13th October 2003
Lives for gear

You see them on ebay from time to time, and prices vary on condition, but there is no way Id sell mine.

Apparently I got one very last ones AKG sold new. Mine is a D12e, same as a D12 with a little more top.

there is also the D20 and D25 and most likley a few more variations that Im sure someone here can fill you in on better than me.
Old 13th October 2003