The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
new guy with a mobile recorder - looking for tips Condenser Microphones
Old 16th September 2011
Here for the gear

new guy with a mobile recorder - looking for tips

hello everybody!

i am memorire from germany and i am totally new to audio stuff and this is my first post here.

i kind of slid into it by buying an olympus LS-5 (basically a stripped down LS-11) to record my college lectures. after reading some things about it i realized that i can use it for far more things than that:

- record concerts outdoors and in bars
- record ambient sounds
- record for films
- etc.

it can do some of the things out of the box and some probably not so good.

so i decided to go first with recording local bands in their rehearsal environment and in small clubs and bars, but also try to be the sound guy on small independent movie sets.

if i continue liking it i am planning on buying more serious stuff to record demos and albums (probably all of it low end - zoom r16 or something like that).

So my question is - given my goals what should i get next? i own absolutely no other audio gear, cables etc.

i have a small tripod for the recorder and the recorder itself.

i did start reading about recording, gear, concepts etc. but it is a really vast field for the uninitiated, but i have some basic knowledge by now.

all serious suggestions are appreciated!
Old 17th September 2011
Lives for gear

Suggestion:

A lot more research, here and elsewhere. Go to some trade shows, dealers etc. ask questions, get your hands on the gear, maybe rent some of the big things before you buy, if you can. A forum like this can help with specific questions, but you need some general knowledge and experience
to formulate specific questions. There are an infinite number of ways to skin this cat.

phil p
Old 17th September 2011
Here for the gear