The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Creating a set up to record orchestral music Summing Mixers
Old 3rd September 2011
Gear Nut

Creating a set up to record orchestral music

Hi

I am a composer more than a engineer so I am looking for some advice. I put orchestral music in the title as I am not doing strict classical but write orchestral music for Television and Film.

For small budget projects I usually end up mixing solo instruments with samples, for medium I hire small studios and bring in players and sometimes I do full orchestra which I get recorded at Smecky Studios.

I want to build a decent setup to record orchestral instruments myself. As I do not get enough time in other studios to always get the performance that I am after, as the length of time in the studio is based on the budget I am given. I have built a nice sounding largish room that I can fit anything from solo instruments, small string sections to very small chamber orchestras. I have a good list of players to call upon and so would like to have the freedom to do the recording myself.

I own Apogee Symphony units with the PCI64 interface, for now I am more than happy enough with them.

I was thinking of adding to my existing pre-amps a API lunchbox (10 slot) and filling it with either the DAV 501's or Forssell SMP 500? Do you think this is the best choice? Then if I need more channels I can get another lunch box and add additional pre-amps if and when I need?

I do have one last question, I have had my stuff mixed at AIR Lyndhurst and the difference that board makes is amazing!!! It is a beast!! I know that I can't reproduce that. But the separation and sound in the mixes compared to in ITB version is really amazing!!