The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags:

Recording trumpet
Old 27th January 2006
Gear Head

Recording trumpet

I'm studying sound engineering at a college. I'm having a blast!

I've been listening to Chris Botti lately and been getting interested in recording trumpets. Can anyone please give me some advice on micing, placement and processing?

Thanks a lot! You guys have helped me learn so much already! Shot a lot!
Old 27th January 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyd
I'm studying sound engineering at a college. I'm having a blast!

I've been listening to Chris Botti lately and been getting interested in recording trumpets. Can anyone please give me some advice on micing, placement and processing?

Thanks a lot! You guys have helped me learn so much already! Shot a lot!

Simple and effective: A SM-58 about a foot away from the bell. Point at the bell, maybe a little bit off axis to reduce exessive wind coming out of the trumpet . An off axis u-87 can also give very nice results! thumbsup
Old 27th January 2006
Gear Maniac

I saw Arturo Sandoval recently, and he was miced with a Royer R121. I'm sure that would sound amazing in the studio as well.

Ken
Old 27th January 2006
Here for the gear

I've used an SM-7 on trumpet with great results. A little off topic but I just used a D112 in a session on a trombone and i thought it was great!
Old 27th January 2006

The frequency range of trumpet isn't that great, so you don't need at pricey condenser mic. You do need something well ballanced that can take a lot of SPL.

MD421 can be nice, but can end up a bit bright.

Some of the EV Neodym mics might give good results.

A foot from the bell isn't a bad place to start. You are going to want to move around the room and fid the spot that sounds good for the particular piece and performer.

-tINY

Old 28th January 2006
Gear Head