The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , , ,

Procedure for Custom IEM molds
Old 30th July 2009
Lives for gear

Question Procedure for Custom IEM molds

I've never done this before so I'm not sure what the general procedure is in regards to it. My church is in the process of getting a lot of new gear and IEM's are next on the list. The worship leader wants to get some custom molds for his ears, but we have still not picked out any IEM's for him. More then likely we will order a few different ones and see what he likes. Can I just find a local audiologist in the area and have them do some molds of his ears, and then when we find the IEM's he likes....? Like I said, not really sure how to go about this or what the best plan is, I'm sure you guys can help me out, thanks!
Old 30th July 2009
I've been doing this for a number of years and it took a while to find the right people. At first I used the local audiologist I found referred from the Westone website and they were OK. However, they were mostly used to working with people with hearing problems rather than with musicians. Eventually, I think it was from the Future Sonics site, I found Berkley Griles at Hear Inc, here in Boulder, and Berkley is a music fan who got into the business, so he knows what goes on in a venue first hand. He worked with me until we got the right fit (as did the previous audiology lab, but I never got the idea they knew exactly what the issues were). He works with most of the major manufacturers, so he knows all their strengths and weaknesses. It really made a big difference and the ones I have fit great. I also had him do molds for Westone ear plugs.