The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Remote Recording Rig Noise
Old 17th August 2005
Gear Nut

Talking Remote Recording Rig Noise

I have a mobile rig that I put together to record at my brother-in-laws garage. I originally set it up in my basement and everything worked awesome. I then brought it over to his house and I would get intermittent pops & cracks. Well I built the computer based on a P-3 750 MHz computer with SAW Studio Lite & 2 Behringer ADA8000's. For and old computer use just for tracking (mixing to be done elsewhere) the thing bearly breaks a sweat!! Anyway I thought it was first a word clock problem. I purchased a used Lucid Genx -6. No improvement. I started playing with the soundcard driver & buffers. No improvement. After going round and round for 3 Sundays in a row I broke the system down and brought it home. I ran a series of test recordings tonight and all the problems are gone!. I am starting to suspect there is something going on with the electric line. It has been hot here in NJ and his central air has been running in the house. Maybe the compressor is throwing a pop down the line. Also we have a strong feeling his garage maybe sharing a circut with something else in his house. Tommorrow he is going to kill the breaker the garage is on and see if he notices anything else goes out. Well if this is the case in lieu of adding a larger panel and or putting the garage on a seperate breaker are there anything cost effective electrical filters or remedies to this issue. I am about 98% sure it is in the electrical line because of the process of elimination. I am sure someone else has run into these type issues when doing remote recording . . .help. TIA
Joe
Old 17th August 2005
Lives for gear

hi soundtrack2life,

"It has been hot here in NJ"