The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
3 Channels of Pres for Classical Recording
Old 13th July 2005
Lives for gear

3 Channels of Pres for Classical Recording

Hello Slutz,

I work as an engineer at a university and we are in the market for 3 pristine preamp channels for the recording of classical music. Our budget tops out at roughly $2700. Our mic configuration is a Decca Tree with two Neuman 170s on the sides and an Earthworks QTC1 in the center.

We are looking at the John Hardy M2s, GML 8304s, and other pres (of course, we wish budget wasn't an issue, but we have to cap it at $2700).

Can anyone tell me how the Twin Servo 990 pres from John Hardy would sonically benefit classical music? (I know it's an open ended question but subjective answers are appreciated).

Do you think we'd be ok with 3 channels of the M2s?

thanks,
Paul
Old 13th July 2005
Lives for gear

you should also take a look at millenia media hv3's probably one of the most used pre for clasical recording.
Old 13th July 2005
Lives for gear

the hardy's are great, though i prefer millenia hv3b's for that sort of application. i believe you can get 4x for around the price point you're talking.
Old 13th July 2005
Lives for gear

The Hardy's are fantastic... You won't go wrong there. I would also suggest perhaps looking at something like a DAV Electronics BG2 and use the extra cash to pick up a used TLM to match the rest of your tree.

Of course Millennias are great (as mentioned), the Grace 201's are great, but that is going to stretch the budget a bit. I've used the new A Designs Pacifica for classical with great results, although 4 channels (2 of them) will stretch your budget a bit as well.

--Ben
Old 13th July 2005
Here for the gear

Paul,
Take a look at the new Rupert Neve Portico, You can get 2 pair for a few bucks over budget, and they sound great. They sell direct at www.rupertneve.com

kip
Old 13th July 2005
Lives for gear