The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
1st Time Recording
Old 24th June 2005
Here for the gear

Talking 1st Time Recording

Hi Folks

this is my first post here so please be gentle
I read gearslutz for more than a year now and i always found the anwsers i needed. (really great forum!!!) But now i need some advice from experienced users...

I offerd my Vocal Teacher to record her. She is singing some classic Stuff like Schubert (dont ask me what it is excatly -- im studying jazz) together with a piano player. She will need the records as demos. The reason i offerd to record her was because she wanted to do it with a Minidisc Recorder and i thaught i could do it better...

She will now rent a good sounding room with a grandpiano and a pianoplayer...

My gear: Digi002 PT6.9, PB 12" 1.5GHz 768MB RAM 80GB HD, ext 160GB USB2 HD, SM58 Mic and a SM57 Mic thats it.

I could rent some Mics at a local Company they have: Neumann KM 140 / KM 130, Neumann TLM 170 / U 89, Neumann RSM 191, Neumann USM 69.

I want to record it with one Mic in the room, maybe a stereo mic.

What should i go for? What about Micplacement? Samplerate to record at, 88.2 or 44.1? Mic suggestions? Somthing i forgot?

What a about Eq/Dynamics on Classic Stuff after recording? Is it alowed or has it to be "pure"?

Any help would be great, maybe stuff i forgot to think about!!!
You really running a great forum.

Happy Landing
Funomatic
Old 24th June 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by funomatic
I could rent some Mics at a local Company they have: Neumann KM 140 / KM 130, Neumann TLM 170 / U 89, Neumann RSM 191, Neumann USM 69.f
I like the idea of the USM69 for starters....

But I am not a remote / classical person...

Great post!

Old 24th June 2005
Lives for gear