The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Tags: , , , ,

How to mic a small acoustic ethnic ensemble
Old 15th June 2005
Lives for gear

Question How to mic a small acoustic ethnic ensemble

I'm a musician that would like to do halfway decent recording of his music. I am going to be traveling in the fall and I thought I would get a real head start here by asking a few questions. I was wondering how I should mic a small acoustic group (what kind of mic and where it should be placed)?

The instruments would be:

Greek bowlback Bouzouki (think oversized mandolin)
Upright Bass
Nylon string guitar
Darbuka
Upright Piano
Violin

The biggest worry for me is not knowing how to mic the bouzouki properly. I'm looking for a closely mic-ed sound as the bouzouki is easily overpowered by the other instruments. My set up is based around a powerbook. I will be getting a new audio interface and some mics before I go so I will be making purchase decisions based on mic suggestions.

Thanks in advance

Cheers
Old 17th June 2005
Super Moderator

Welcome Mr. autodidactic:

I like when musicians show interest in their own recordings and productions.
So, I assume you want to multiple mic your small acoustic group. Right?

Most decent Bouzoukis have a pickup. I would DI the pick up and also place a mic just like you would mic an acoustic guitar. Wondering -- how many strings does this bouzouki have?

The Upright Bass would get the same treatment as per usual. DI the pickup; place a mic in the bridge or near the bridge.

The nylon string guitar should have a mic placed between the hole and bottom of the neck. Maybe you should also add a DI.