The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , , , ,

What's up with classical piano recordings these days? Condenser Microphones
Old 10th October 2008
Gear addict

Talking What's up with classical piano recordings these days?

I'm very curious to hear some other forum members’ insights about this. What are the techniques that people are using these days to record classical piano, and how do they differ from 30 or 40 years ago?

One thing I often notice about very recent recordings is that they sound, for lack of a better word, "processed." There's a certain haze to the sound, there is absolutely no extraneous noise, there are no errant overtones or reverberations, and there a strange sense of distance even while the music fills the sound stage.

I play piano for a living and I've been to plenty of concerts, and I can honestly say that I've never heard a piano sound like this in real life. Compare discs by Perahia (his recent Chopin Etudes is a great example), Hamelin and Angela Hewitt to some of the fantastic recordings by Gould, Horowitz and Arrau from the 60s and 70s.

With the latter I'm always able to indentify the piano in space and feel a sense of intimacy and immediacy in the music. There are numerous "flaws" though: hiss, occasional overly resonant overtones, clear differences in voicing across the range of the piano, pedal and hammer noise, etc. None of this is found in more recent stuff, and to be honest, I miss it. With new recordings I often feel like I'm listening to the music coming from a featureless void, rather than a connection to a specific person, time and place.