The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: ,

Can someone recommend a DV camera? Mixers (Analog)
Old 6th March 2003
Lives for gear

Question Can someone recommend a DV camera?

I'm a complete newbie to digital video. I'd like to get a camera for about £700-1000, (that's about $1000-1300).

I'd like it to be light and high quality with good zooming....!

thanks for any replies!
Old 6th March 2003
There is only one

its kinda limited at that price point. no manual control or 3chip shows up until $2k+. although with enough light you can get a pretty good camera at that price point. i got a Sony a few years back at that price point im fairly happy with despite any manual controls... which is a necessity if you plan on doing anything serious with the camera, and come from a photographic background. iow, no short depth of field with cameras under $2k. i think the cheapest is the cannon gl2 although the XL1s seems to be what most use, or panasonic has a new camera out that does 24fps. but the XL1s features interchangable lenses.

i guess it depends on what you want to use it for. there are some sony's with zeiss lenses and some sort of high res single ccd that are supposed to be decent.
Old 6th March 2003
Lives for gear

At that price range

I'd be looking at a Sony ,Canon and Panasonic at this range.

Sony models in that range have nice Carl Zeiss lens

Canon makes their own glass of course.

Check out

www.camcorderinfo.com

www.sony.com

www.canondv.com

http://www.prodcat.panasonic.com/sho...ategoryId=2688 a good 3 CCD camera. If Video Quality is paramount look here.

http://www.panasonic.com/consumer_el...12&cont_id=430 Take a look at this beauty. THE cheapest 3 CCD camera you can buy. Under $1000 if the video quality holds up Panny will sell them by the bushels.

http://news.sel.sony.com/pressrelease/3114 Press Release on New Sony Cams