The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , ,

Need some advice on recording a double bass. Anyone?
Old 11th February 2008
Lives for gear

Need some advice on recording a double bass. Anyone?

I am going to be recording this: Double bass - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Since my time will be limited on setting it all up and recording the performerance, and since I have no experience in recording a double bass - I thought I would ask for some tips on Gearslutz.

Where is the "main" position I would place the microphone? Are there any common techniques to follow to get the best sound when recording a double bass?

I have alot of Blue microphones, I have the violet globe, AKG c414, some shure mics and the RODE M3, and some preamps that I can use for this. Anyone of these mics that you feel could be the best to use?

Im not expecting to do a pro recording on this one, mostly trying to pick up enough tips and info here, so that in the few hours I have - I can hopefully come out with something useful. ;-)

Any help or suggestions are highly appreciated..

Thanks in advance! :-)
Old 11th February 2008

Use a mic with good low frequency extension - and put it on a shock mount.

Then, try different positions. If you have a huge room, great - put the bass 10-15 feet from any wall and position the mic a foot away and listen. If you are in a small room, you'll just have to try moving around untill the bass response is decent.

-tINY

Old 11th February 2008
Lives for gear