The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , , ,

Sports/Travel Remote Techs. Analog Processors (HW)
Old 12th September 2007
Gear Head

Question Sports/Travel Remote Techs.

Seeing how most of you folks have plenty of experience in this area I decided to post in this forum.

I would really like to get involved in audio for live sports or nature/travel programs (National Geopgraphic, Discovery, Etc...). However I have no clue how to get ahold of the person I would NEED to talk to about these opportunitys. I don't really have a preference when it comes to wether I would be recording, or just holding a boom. I have very little knowledge about this area, so any help would be greatly appreciated, I can't think of anything better than being able to travel to remote places and still get to work with audio.

Respect.
Nick
Old 14th September 2007
Gear Head

Anybody able to comment on this thread?

Respect,
Nick
Old 14th September 2007
Lives for gear

I'll take a stab, as I do a lot of weird work in the broadcast industry.

Apply for a job as a utility, explaining that you are a sound person and are looking for opportunities to A3/A2 as a boom op, parabolic op, comms tech, etc. AND a grip who LOVES to work with cable, cable, cable. Did I mention cable?

Post your resume with every mobile video company you can find who rents trucks to FOX, NBC, ABC, etc. I don't know what forum, website, etc a Tech Manager would visit, but that's the OTHER person you want to impress and hires grips, until you can meet A1s who specialize in a particular type of event, and hang on their sleeve.