The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , ,

New to group and starting off with a bang... Condenser Microphones
Old 11th September 2007
Gear Nut

Talking New to group and starting off with a bang...

Hello,

I am new to Gearslutz, but not new to location recording. I have been doing it on and off for several years since college and I must admit a lot has changed. So, now I look to you for guidance.

I have been offered (what I consider) a terrific opportunity, to record a regional choral society for archival purposes. They have some equipment and I going to flesh out the rest. They have a Genex GX8000 (I am not familiar with this piece, not used one before.) and a couple of Neumann TLM 103 LDCs, but they are not happy with the sound that they were getting.

Anyway, here is what I am thinking. I would use a pair Schoeps MK4 for a main pair, a pair Neumann KM84i for outriggers and for occasional harpsichord/piano forte spots a pair of KM184.

As for recording, my options are to use my laptop with 2 Metric Halo ULN-2 for now and wait for the Mil Media HV-3C with the AD converters and run into the digital in for one of the ULNs (that is whenever it becomes available). Or, I can use their Genex and purchase other pieces to make it work. I was thinking an 8 channel mic pre (Mil, DAV or Grace), and a Mytek 8x192 AD/DA, and go into the Genex. Then mix at another studio.

Which would you do? Am I on the right track or over thinking it? Oh yeah, they do have a budget for this, but if they buy I get paid less.

Thanks.
Old 11th September 2007
Gear Nut

Choral Society

I forgot to mention, this group travels (churches, concert halls and the dreaded cafegymatorium (I am told), so my luxury of having one set room does not exist.

Thanks again.
Old 12th September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom View Post