The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags:

question about splitting.. Condenser Microphones
Old 3rd September 2007
Here for the gear

Question question about splitting..

Hi!

Is it possible to split the signal coming from a mic pre using a Y-cable, to feed the signal to two different recorders ? Lets say a soundcard and a DAT recorder.
Would it be a bad solution ?

Thanks for your help!

Håvard
Old 3rd September 2007
Lives for gear

The best way is to use a transformer.
Old 3rd September 2007
Lives for gear

going parallel to recorders isn't an awful idea really, usually works fine, depending on the impedance of the source and destinations.. can't explain this, i have no electrical knowledge..
All I know is: works fine most of the time..
Old 3rd September 2007
Here for the gear

thanks!

A transformer like this? http://www.turnkey.co.uk/web/product...5U&context=WEB
Old 3rd September 2007
Lives for gear

you don't really need a transformer if you're talking about splitting a mic-pre output to two different recorders.

splitting a mic signal to separate pre's is another story, but splitting a line level signal is simple, a y cable or something similar will work fine.
Old 3rd September 2007
Lives for gear

Don't tell anyone, but I was doing the olympics in athens for NBC, and our truck was basically too small for the tasks we were given, and in the end I had to parallel our (16) outputs to transmission (sattelite truck and backup digital thing)..
I measured it, and turned out it only gave a 0.3 db loss..
The loss depends on impedance though (or so I was told) and sometimes the signal sort of crashes (thin sounding, low level) also, supposedly, based on impedance.... Or something
Old 3rd September 2007
Lives for gear