The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , ,

Advice for a total noob Desktop Synthesizers
Old 28th August 2007
Here for the gear

Talking Advice for a total noob

Greetings all ! Managed to find this place a couple of months ago and have been lurking ever since. Amazed at all the talent that resides on here!

I have been throwing around the idea of picking up some gear so that I could start doing some live recordings, and learning the art and science of recording. Since my much lengthier original post just got wiped out because my login seemed to time out I'll make this one shorter. The original seed of an idea came from my wanting to be able to record my own personal practice sessions (saxophone), now that I'm getting a lot more serious about it after a too-long hiatus. But I've always had some interest in the recording process too, and I know several friends that are working musicians that seem to not have very good recording experiences - like having their recorded sax playing sound nothing like what they really sound like.

So anyway, my thinking was that one way I could approach this would be to pick up some gear and then arrange w/ a couple of the folks that I know to do some live recordings of some of their gigs for free, so that I could learn the trade a bit. I know that several of them would also be up for the sort of experimentation w/ mic positions, etc., that it's become obvious to me reading on here that you need to do to get the best sound.

I'd love to hear some suggestions from all the real pros on here. Thanks in advance!
Old 29th August 2007
Lives for gear

Welcome, Big E.

So, you want to dig a hole in the ground and burn your money? Join the club- you found the right place. heh