The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
IRT Cross vs A Format for sound-only ambience capture
Old 5 days ago
Gear Maniac

IRT Cross vs A Format for sound-only ambience capture

Hi there folks

I've been asked to record the night-time ambience during seabird breeding season, on islands that are an ongoing conservation project. The intended usage is not 100% clear, but will include using the soundscape during events promoting the conservation project, and it may be part of a museum installation about the islands in the future.

I'm a music soundie by trade, in live sound and recording at the classical & arts end of the spectrum. I've done only a bit of post sound for picture, and no location sound (but plenty of live recording). I've been wanting to get into field recording for pleasure and raw material for a while.

My inclination is to try harder than stereo only, and capture this in a surround format. Partly this is due to the sound-only immersive usage of the resulting material, and partly because I'm learning about surround and have recently upgraded my studio to a decent 5.1 system. As a music classical guy, I'm much more drawn to spaced microphone arrays from a sound aspect, but I appreciate the utility of a coincident setup, particuarly in a situation like this.

Budget is minimal (this is a volunteer effort). After research, I've come down to two options:

1. Purchase Rycote BBG's + windjammers and deploy four of my Schoeps MK4's I already have in an IRT cross on hardware I already have.

2. For only slightly more than the Rycote's, I could purchase a Rode NT-SF1 A format mic. Exotic location mic hire options are pretty slim here.