The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Help recording a soprano and guitar Duo
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

Help recording a soprano and guitar Duo

Dear members,
I have always used my equippment to record myself (classical guitar).
Now I have to record a duo of guitar and singer and I have no idea as to how to place the mics. Would you give me a piece of advice?
The room sounds quite nice and is not small and I own a pair of cardioid Schoeps and a pair of Mk2H omnis.

Thanks a lot
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

I'm also a classical guitarist and often work with singers. Something that has worked for me in the past has been a Faulkner 4-mic array, starting in normal performance position and adjusting distance from the mics until an acceptable balance was achieved. We ended up with the singer a few feet further back from the mics than myself. Worked pretty well, sounded natural with good balance. We were very lucky in that we had the luxery of time to experiment, and the hall was fabulous.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

Thanks a lot for you answer. That approach seems very clever! A few feet further back would be something between 50-100 cms or much more ?
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Did once recording with small renaissance group, lute, viola da gamba, singer. Singer was very dominant whle on the same distance as instruments. He went back around 2 meters for a good balance. They were sitting, he was standing, what made more adantage for him. I would not make any prejudgements. Just start with 3 meters, which will be too far, but will let you get the idea of too far and let the singer coming closer to match the level and the amount of presence with guitar. Probably not that hard to hear.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Agreed. Assuming you have a bit of time to experiment, trial and error.
Old 1 week ago