The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Tags: , , ,

Trucks on Zoom F6
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Trucks on Zoom F6

Information on Zoom F6 says: “6-channel/14-track field audio recorder/mixer". I understand 2 trucks are for a stereo mixdown, but how can you get the remaining 12 trucks from 6 imput device?

I am a professional musician, not a sound technician, but by nature close to the field, and, forgive me, I was always bothered by the ambiguity or contextuality of your industry terminology, which is understandable. But this time I must know before I'll buy.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

You mention you are a professional musician. To a few of my professional musician friends, this would be a most ridiculous suggestion; download and read the manual as the track count is explained in the manual. I don’t have an F6 but, out of pure curiosity, downloaded the manual from Zoom’s website.

My Summary:
The F6 has a Dual recording mode which simultaneously records each track twice, (1) @ 16/24 bit WAV and (2) 32-bit float WAV files. (6 x 2) = 12 + 2 mix down.

From the manual:
“Dual

These modes simultaneously record ordinary 16/24-bit WAV files and 32-bit float WAV files.

Adjust input (trim) levels so that the clip indicators do not light when recording.

Even if clipping occurs in 16/24bit WAV file data during recording, data at a suitable level without clipping can be obtained by editing the 32bit Float WAV files during post-production.”

Quote:
Originally Posted by TakiJedenPan View Post
Information on Zoom F6 says: “6-channel/14-track field audio recorder/mixer". I understand 2 trucks are for a stereo mixdown, but how can you get the remaining 12 trucks from 6 imput device?