The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
How has the typical full-orchestra recording setup changed over the past 60 years?
Old 21st July 2019
Here for the gear

How has the typical full-orchestra recording setup changed over the past 60 years?

Hello, hope this is the right place for this question! I'm currently studying the history of recording/engineering (focusing primarily on classical and filmscore recording) and am having trouble finding any clear summaries that give the big picture of how a typical full-orchestra recording setup has evolved and changed from, say, 1960 to the present. Some things are fairly obvious (no spot mics until the bigger, more modern desks came out in the 80s/90s?), but I know there's a lot I'm not grasping.

I realize a truly comprehensive answer to this could fill entire books! And if it HAS filled any such books, I'd love to be pointed toward those, but for purposes of this thread I'm only looking for a very general picture. Mic types, number and placement of mics, common engineering and mixing approaches, etc., and how the trends in each of those areas changed from decade to decade.

I'm fairly well aware of how things tend to be done nowadays, but am not clear on how the contemporary approach differs from what would have been the case in 1960 or 1970 or 1980, etc., and am not sure where else to turn for that sort of info. Also interested to know about how and when the divergences between the classical approach and the filmscore approach would have come into vogue. Any and all info about any of the above would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Old 21st July 2019
Lives for gear

Hello,

You could watch "The Golden Ring", a 1965 long docu (88mn) by the BBC about the Decca recording of Wagner's Götterdämmerung.

John Culshaw, the artistic director, also wrote a book called "Ring resounding".

Fred.
Old 21st July 2019
Lives for gear