The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Upgrading gear, input welcome
Old 13th July 2019
Here for the gear

Upgrading gear, input welcome

Hello, all!

I haven't totally made up my mind on this, but I am strongly considering selling one of my instruments (tuba player) and using the funds to upgrade my personal recording equipment. My set of personal gear hasn't changed much in the last few years, since I've spent that time working full time (and then some) as the audio engineer for a University. I'm moving to a new job that is full-time faculty of audio at a different University, and so I hope to get back to freelance work on the side.

Selling this instrument would be a big deal for me, as I've been playing tuba for close to 15 years now, and just completed a DMA in the thing. That being said, I have had way more professional success in audio, and really do enjoy it, so it seems worth it to me. Although it's still something I'm coming to terms with, it appears that my career track has decidedly moved away from the tuba and over to audio. Besides, I have a second tuba that plays even better, so I'll still keep my chops up! And as it turns out, I love playing the weird, gnarly, experimental side of music, and I was never going to make a living playing that anyways!

All of that is to say that whatever I buy with the funds from this sale need to go towards some gear that will last me a long time, and need to be worth the money. I want to purchase a pair of cardioid mics, and a pair of omni mics, and with the tuba sale I should have around $5k to work with. I've always specialized in classical recital and concert recording, and that's what I'm targeting with this purchase. Here are my thoughts so far, and if you have any suggestions, I'd love to hear them!

Omni mics: Sennheiser MKH 8020 stereo pair ($2400), Gefell M320 pair (~$2000), Schoeps ($3125), Neumann KM183 pair ($1600)