The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , ,

more advice on pipe organ, noise in particular Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 16th April 2019
Gear Addict

more advice on pipe organ, noise in particular

So, I'm still pretty new at this. I've now done three recordings of the same pipe organ in as many months. I learn a little something from each new experience, and I'm fairly happy with the sound from this latest outing... except for one thing. The noise level in the recording is somewhat frustrating. I'm nowhere near as picky about background noise as many people on these forums, but the noise in my recordings of this organ seems excessive.

I assume what I'm hearing is mostly blower noise, but I'm not sure. My attitude at first was that the blower is just part of the instrument, and so if I get a recording of the blower, that's fine because I'm capturing what really happened. But I'm not so sure. I feel like other organ recordings I listen to don't suffer from the same noise issues.

Any advice?

I've heard mixed reviews on noise reduction plug-ins. Some people rave about how wonderful they are, while others warn about artifacts. I'm running very old, base level software which limits my plug-in options severely as well. Other than noise reduction software, I don't know what options I have. I'm not sure what I could change with mics/positioning to improve things, but even if I knew, I'm not sure I'd want to compromise tone and acoustics for the sake of noise.

As long as I'm posting this recording, I'd welcome any other advice on what's good or bad, where I can stand to improve further, besides just the noise questions.

Thanks!

Old 17th April 2019
For pipe organ recording:

Get good at RX. There’s no way around it.