The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
My Last Symphony Recording? Condenser Microphones
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

My Last Symphony Recording?

This weekend, I am recording the Tulsa Symphony Orchestra for their final classics concert of the season as they perform:

Strauss, Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28

Piazolla, Serie Del Angel (bassoon solo)

Rachmaninoff, Symphonic Dances

I've recorded every classics concert for this symphony for the last five years. And I have been working with them since September 2008 when I started as the acting house audio tech, and then the full time house audio tech in December of 2008 for the Tulsa Performing Arts Center, until my departure last July. TSO is the only user group that I have maintained as a client after leaving the Tulsa PAC. They were always my favorite group to work with and I've mixed their pops concerts, live movie score concerts, holiday concerts, and "Symphony in the Park" for them. And this week marks the 30th concert recording I have done for the TSO, all of which have been broadcast on the local public radio station here in Tulsa.

Today during load in, I started thinking, "what if this is my last recording for Tulsa Symphony? What if this is the last show I ever work for them?" Of course it made me sad. And while I don't intend to drop them as a client; I have been interviewing for jobs all over the country. Depending on the job I do get, it just may not be doable to come back to keep recording. I just don't know what the future will hold for me and the Tulsa Symphony.

The Setup:

Main array of 2 Neumann TLM170s in NOS, with a pair of Earthworks M23 omnis as a spaced AB pair
2 Neumann KM184s as L-R flanks
2 Neumann KM184s on the woodwinds
1 Line Audio CM3 over the Tympani/Piano/Harp
1 Line Audio CM3 over the brass