The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording a Cello / Piano Duet Condenser Microphones
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Head
Recording a Cello / Piano Duet

Hi all,

I am new to location recording and seeking some advice on mic selection and placement.

The concert I am recording will consist of a cellist and pianist, the room is a small theater. According to the FOH engineer, it is not a particularly lively room.

The microphones I have to work with are:
2 Cad M179 multi patern LDC's,
4 Oktava MC-012's (2 omni capsules, 4 cardiod, 1 stock set, 1 modded set)
1 Joly modded Cad Trion 8000 (omni, figure 8, cardiod)
AMT M40 Piano Microphone system.

EDIT: I should also mention I have an On Stage Deluxe stereo bar, meaning I could do both an AB Omni pair and ORTF / NOS on 1 bar.

My plan is to put up a stereo pair close to or on the stage, a pair at the back of the room, and some spot mics. Spot mics may or may not be fed to FOH as well.

I'm curious what you would do in terms of placement, mic selection, and polar patterns in my situation.

Thanks in advance!
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Govier966 View Post
My plan is to put up a stereo pair close to or on the stage, a pair at the back of the room, and some spot mics. Spot mics may or may not be fed to FOH as well.
Why would there be any FOH? Maybe the "money talk" before the musicians start to perform, but other than that?

That's why it's called acoustic music.

D.

PS. Reinforcement will really mess up your recording, no doubt.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by tourtelot View Post

+1. Not ideal for recording that instrument duet.
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Head
Quote:
Originally Posted by tourtelot View Post
Why would there be any FOH? Maybe the "money talk" before the musicians start to perform, but other than that?