The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , , , ,

Bought an NTG-3 but I'm a sound designer/field recorder, is it worth keeping? Condenser Microphones
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Bought an NTG-3 but I'm a sound designer/field recorder, is it worth keeping?

Bought an NTG-3 for a documentary I was doing production sound on, being said production sound isn't something I do often nor is it something I feel good about spending $700 on.

Being said if there are other practical applications I'd consider not going through the hassle of reselling.

I've been needing a microphone for field recording so I can quit using the h6 modules and I've been looking at the At BP4025/BP4029 which are around the same price range as well as the RODE nt4 which is substantially cheaper, however if the nt3 can accomplish this similarly, anyways, just having buyers remorse.

Any thoughts?

Edit: I just called myself an object, I meant field recordist.
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Nut

There is quite a big difference between the NTG3 & NT4, a mono shotgun versus a pair of XY cardioids. Both are useful for sound design & field recording. I think the shotgun is good for spot effects, detailed close up recordings, and rejecting unwanted backround sound. The NT4 is better for ambiences and better if you want to record in stereo.

Depending of what you want to record.. I would consider keeping the shotgun & maybe adding a figure of 8 mic if you want to start doing stereo recordings in future!
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear