The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Small recorder with line input + mic input / harsh enviroment Recorders, Players & Tape Machines
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Small recorder with line input + mic input / harsh enviroment

I'm a newbie.
I think I'll buy Zoom F1 for my very specific use case, but I'm not sure if it's not a mistake, so please advice.

The scene is:
free-flight, pilot in helmet, 40 km/h wind, additionally handheld radio (let's say walkie-talkie)

The goal is to auto-record decent quality voice of the pilot + radio transmissions.

Radio has an audio out cable (male 3.5 mm).
I'm not sure if I should mount an external mic inside the helmet or the built-in mic with the device placed on a cockpit (30cm in front, but exposed to the wind) is enough.

I want to use one channel for line-in from radio, and second channel for mic. I believe I need Zoom EXH-6 (Dual XLR/TRS Input Capsule) to achieve that. But it becomes quite bulky in that config. I consider also Zoom H4 (I can have one quite cheap, so it's a plus).

Am I on a right path?

Mods, can you please move the thread to Remote possibilities

Last edited by stoickov; 2 weeks ago at 10:00 PM.. Reason: Wrong section
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

SPDR

-Mike
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by celticrogues View Post
€1349. Ouch!
Looks perfect, but I can't afford perfection.
Do you have any backup ideas?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear