The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags: , , , , , ,

Portable rig for foley/sound effects recording Condenser Microphones
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Portable rig for foley/sound effects recording

Hi everyone,

I'm a hobby/ amateur sound designer and composer looking to upgrade my (portable) foley/ sound effects recording gear.

What I'm currently using:

- Sony PCM M10

What sounds I'm recording/ what I'm doing with the recordings:

- Anything that I find interesting: (loud) hits, scrapes, textures, "quiet" foley sounds...
- I record at my flat but also outside and at random/ different places, I don't have a dedicated/ treated room for recording
- I process and layer the recordings in order to create sound effects in my DAW (hits/impacts, wooshes, sci-fi sounds, weapons - currently focussing on cinematic sound effects, but I've also done foley for short films and sound effects for a mobile game)
- I want to create sound effects libraries/ sound packs, maybe also including raw/ unprocessed sounds

What I'm looking for:

- Less noise
- Better frequency range
- Better "overall" quality
- Portability
- Better directionality, less ambience/ room noise etc. (i.e. most likely a setup with a shotgun mic)

Budget:

- I'm rather flexible regarding the budget, but I don't think I would want to spend much more than around 1500 EUR at the moment; depending on the path I'm choosing, this would probably include a dedicated recorder and at least one microphone.

I'm well aware that the gear I'm looking at doesn't really match my skill level, but I don't like the idea of spending a bit less now only to have to buy something new within the next few years and going through the hassle of trying to sell used equipment.

Options/ Possible setups: