The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Chamber Concert recording Condenser Microphones
Old 2 weeks ago
Chamber Concert recording

Hi all, this is a recent recording (extract) I made locally of the Ravel Introduction and Allegro as part of a chamber concert that I was engaged to record. This is a work for string quartet, harp, clarinet, and flute, but mainly featuring the harp, recorded in a medium sized hall.

I would appreciate any comments or suggestions, positive or negative, on this recording. I am relatively new to recording live classical recordings, although no stranger to studio recordings, and I hope to improve based on feedback. I was given a lot of help from TommyBoy, and owe him a great debt of gratitude.
Attached Files
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Nice balance in the recording, although it sounds a bit airless and overly precise or 'pinpoint' in its stereo imaging...is it a mid/side recording...in fact almost sounds like a chamber concert base recording, with studio overdubs ! Maybe not so much airless, as a bit too closely miked and strident...for my liking at least ? The few audience noises certainly confirm it's a concert !

Last edited by studer58; 2 weeks ago at 05:45 AM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Good recording, nice playing, just needs a little more room imho
Harp sounds real, this can be difficult to capture
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Head

Very nice color of the individual instruments and the global balance.
I'm very curious about the technique and gear you have used to capture all this.
Well done.
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear