The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Which gear setup for recording a concert band? Condenser Microphones
Old 10th September 2018
Here for the gear

Which gear setup for recording a concert band?

Hi all. I will be recording a series of 4 concerts for the city's concert band. I have 15+ years experience with studio recording and live sound, but this will be my first concert band live recording. I've been doing some research and checking these forums, but would like some input on my ideas for recording. All feedback is welcome.

Mics:

I own 2 Shure SM81s, 2 AKG C414s, 1 AKG C214, and a number of dynamic mics that aren't really appropriate for this type of gig (SM57/58, SM7, etc.). Because my microphone choice is somewhat limited, my initial ideas for mic placement may be the way to go. A pair of SM81s in either ORTF or NOS configuration above and behind the conductor, and a pair of AKG C414s as flanks. I'm not exactly sure where/how to place the flanks, though. And I'm also a little nervous about blocking the view of the conductor with a large mic stand.

Recording:

My initial idea was to record into a Zoom F4 then dump to Pro Tools for a little post-production cleanup. While I am still considering that option because it seems pretty reliable, I am now entertaining the idea of using my Focusrite Clarett 8pre into a mid-2012 Macbook Pro running Pro Tools 10. If I do the Macbook setup, I'll definitely want to come up with a backup recorder option just in case something goes awry (if you couldn't tell, computers make me nervous for 1-take, do or die recordings).