The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Gear for recording viols and harpsichord Condenser Microphones
Old 3rd March 2018
Gear Head

Gear for recording viols and harpsichord

Hi all,

I’m a professional viola da gamba player interested in recording my and others’ concerts. I’m running a relatively portable setup as follows:

Matched pair Oktava mk-12 (cardioid only)
Shure sm81-LC
Focusrite Scarlet 18i8

I’m thinking of adding something to this setup - possibly an LDC omni - and was wondering if anyone had an opinion on the best approach to recording eearly string instruments. My budget is quite small (around £300) and I’ve been wondering about buying an Oktava mk-220 which has Switchable polar patterns and is based on the MK-319.

Any advice would be really appreciated!

Thanks all!
Old 3rd March 2018
Lives for gear

If you like the Shure SDC sound, you could try the KSM141, which is switchable between omni and and cardioid. You might even find a used stereo pair for 300 quid. In switchable pattern LDC, the Audio Technica AT4050 is a great value mic.

Also, if you search this forum, there is lots of info on the Line Audio OM1 and CM3 mics.
Old 5th March 2018
Here for the gear

Tried to post this earlier, but it didn't seem to go through. Apologies in advance, if this is a duplicate.

I'd stay away from the MK-220, unless you plan to get it modded. IMHO, it would be better invest in a Michael Joly mod and/or a pair of omni capsules (which I find much more useful for early chamber music) for your MK-012s. There are a number of better LDC options available these days (including some of Joly's modded options). You might also consider investing in a good ribbon mic. I've got a Samar VL373A, which I really love for early strings.
Old 5th March 2018