The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Good mics for Bad room... Mixers (Digital)
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear

Good mics for Bad room...

I've been using DPA4099 mics for several years, mostly borrowed, until I bought the four-pack last year about this time. While they are really useful in their "instrument mic" iteration, I've found them to be quite nice for reinforcement gigs with choirs in bad rooms. You can see (and hear) if you agree.

The choir is a high school "Chamber Choir" at a private school here in the NashVegas area. The room is a hard, cold cafeteria that I've been battling for a decade. This is the fourth concert I've done since acquiring the 4099s, and the clip is from a rough "faders-up" mix (Logic session, onboard preamps, tracked through the KT USB card in my Midas M32, no automation, but with EQ tweaks, HPF, slight compression, and a touch of 'verb) for the teacher's evaluation.

Mics were attached to a pair of Audix MicroBooms with gaff tape (center pair), and to a pair of K&M "standard" booms (flanker pair), also with gaff tape. Piano (7' Kawai) was mic'd with a single DPA4061 gaffed 1" above the middle frame member at the crossing of high/low strings, lid on shortest (3") stick. There were also three Shure SLX/Beta87a RF mics for soloists. Notice how the choir mic stands pretty much disappear against the seams in the shell. Everybody with an iPhone (and the two "real" photogs) really appreciate the form factor.

Photo #1 : 4099s gaffed to the top of MicroBooms... the hypercard pattern has nicely mitigated the 200-400Hz bleed from the back of the K12 pair hung in front of the proscenium; Photo #2 : Sag-stopping tape; Photo #3 : Acres of linoleum and drywall.