The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
New rig for classical guitar, anyone with experience? Dual-Channel Preamps
Old 4 days ago
Gear Head

New rig for classical guitar, anyone with experience?

Hello,

I’m a guitarist from the Netherlands (Europe) and I’m looking for a new mobile rig to record my own performances of classical, flamenco and some acoustic guitar music. So it’s main purpose is for the classical nylon string guitar but also some steel string guitar. Of course, I have done all the searching for months now but I feel like I’m getting lost with all the option out there so I was wondering if anyone here has some experience or advice he or she would like to share. I know space/room, player and instrument is the most important but I think I have that covered. I’m an experienced player with good tone and I have a few of the most amazing instruments in my arsenal (Bert Kwakkel, Francisco Barba, Bourgeois). As for the room, luckily I have options. I have a GIK treated study room which sounds good but is on the smaller side, a fairly large living room which is untreated and sounds quite nice and live but has a regular low ceiling, two large churches that I can use, a smaller chapel and a farmhouse with a high 40ft ceiling.

So let’s start with the mic’s:

1. Sonodore RCM-402 or LDM-54 pair (Norbert Kraft seems to like these, whose work i admire, plus it’s in the Netherlands)
2. Royer SF-24v (I here good things about it, easy placement, and i have had a R121 that i liked very much for electric guitar work)
3. DPA ST4006A
4. Schoeps pair of omni’s
5. Pair of LDM mics like Gefell UM92.1S or Mojave MA-1000

Now the mic pre’s:

Sonodore MPB-502 (for perfect pairing with the Sonodore mics)
1. Forssell SMP-2
2. DW Fearn VT-2 (love these things but I don’t know if it’s perhaps too colored.
Highs are sweet and silky though)
3. QES Labs SMP-2
4. DAV